Mandatory Training

Adult Safeguarding

Level 1: all staff in healthcare settings (includes practice receptionists and non-clinical staff​) – two hours of training should be repeated every three years.

Level 2: all non-clinical and clinical staff who have regular contact with patients, their families or the public (includes registered nurses and GP Practice Managers) – 3–4 hours of training should be repeated every three years.

Level 3: all healthcare staff involved in assessing, planning, intervening and evaluating the needs of adults where there are safeguarding concerns (includes GPs and Registered Nurses) – eight hours of training should be repeated every three years.

Level 1 and 2 can be accessed via:

Online training can be accessed for free.


Level 1: all practice staff should complete basic prevent awareness training and level 1 adult-safeguarding e-learning.

Level 1 can be accessed a number of ways, including:

face-to-face basic prevent awareness, for example, induction training, children and adults safeguarding training

e-learning (e-learning for healthcare) Preventing Radicalisation Level 1 and 2

e-learning Basic Prevent Training

Police Channel Panel Awareness

Level 3: all GPs are required to demonstrate level 3 understanding of identifying, responding and working within a multi-agency context in relation to Prevent concerns.

Level 3 can be accessed via:

Preventing Radicalisation Level 3

For more information visit NHS England. For clinical queries and referrals, see also the Adult Safeguarding page.

Child Safeguarding

Level 1: for all non-clinical staff, receptionists and administration staff

This is an e-learning programme that must be completed before attending a face-to-face session.

Level 3: for all clinical staff who work with children, young people, parents/carers (GPs, Practice Nurses and HCAs)

Clinicians should update their Level 3 training every two years.